Sheldon K. Friedlander Award

The Sheldon K. Friedlander Award recognizes an outstanding dissertation by an individual who has earned a doctoral degree. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the physical, biomedical, or engineering sciences but has to be in a field of aerosol science and technology.

The award memorializes Professor Sheldon Friedlander for his leadership as a researcher, teacher, and pioneer in aerosol science. One of AAAR's founders, Friedlander is a past recipient of the distinguished Fuchs Memorial Award. He directed graduate students at Columbia University, The Johns Hopkins University, the California Institute of Technology, and the University of California for more than 50 years.

Eligibility for 2022 Award

Nominations for the Friedlander Award must be submitted in one PDF file in the order outlined above, and are due by May 15 and submitted to:

List of Recipients

1997 — Da-Ren Chen
1998 — Srinivas Vemury
1999 — Richard McClurg
2000 — William D. Dick
2001 — Manuel Gamero Castaño
2002 — Christopher Noble
2003 — Donggeun Lee
2004 — Peter J. Adams
2005 — Anthanasios Nenes

2006 — Charles O. Stanier
2007 — Jason Olfert
2008 — Reto Strobel
2009 — Peter DeCarlo
2010 — Nga (Sally) Ng
2010 — Ilona Riipinen
2011 — Christopher Hogan
2012 — Chongai Kuang
2013 — Jason Surratt

2014 — Manabu Shiraiwa
2015 — Tran Nguyen
2016 — Gabriel Isaacman-VanWertz
2017 — Bryan Bzdek
2018 — Coty Jen
2019 — Jing Li
2020 — James Corson
2021 — Apoorva Pandey

AAAR Sponsors

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors



Thank you to our Gold Sponsors



Cooper Environmental


Particle Instruments

Sunset Laboratory

Thank you to our Bronze Sponsors


Aerosol Devices


CH Technologies


Magee Scientific


Thank you to our Supporting Sponsors

Particles Plus     |     ACS


Thank you to our Organizational Members



Particle Instruments