AS&T Journal

Established in 1982, Aerosol Science and Technology (AS&T), is the official journal of AAAR. It publishes the results of theoretical and experimental investigations into aerosol phenomena and closely related material as well as high-quality reports on fundamental and applied topics. AS&T is published monthly and sent to all members of the AAAR.

The most recent issues of AS&T are only available to members of AAAR and subscribers. Members must be logged in to the web site to view current issues. For information on becoming a member, please click here.


Aerosol Science & Technology archives are now available to the public. Click here to view the AS&T Electronic Archives.


Paper Topics

Particularly appropriate subjects are particle motion in laminar or turbulent fluids; light-scattering phenomena, visibility, and atmospheric optics; electrical charging and precipitation; coagulation, size distribution, and aerosol dynamics; evaporation and condensation; cohesion and adhesion; diffusion; aerosol formation in flames; aerosol delivery of pharmaceuticals; nucleation phenomena; inertial impaction; cyclone collectors and centrifuges; and electrostatic precipitators.

Other topics of interest are aerosol filtration; aerosol-generation methods; sampling of airborne particles; measurement of physical and chemical properties; effects of aerosols on climate and other atmospheric processes; particle deposition in respiratory systems; health effects; radioactive aerosols; aerosol emissions from industrial processes; pollution control; and aerosols in the workplace.

Click here for information on submitting manuscripts to Aerosol Science and Technology.


How to Subscribe

The best way for individuals to receive the journal is to become a full member of AAAR.

Distribution Center/Journal Customer Service Manager

Institutional subscription rate is US $1,214 a year, worldwide.

To place a subscription order for this journal or if there are problems with receiving copies of the journal, contact the appropriate address below. (Members should contact AAAR Headquarters.)

In North America (including Canada, USA, and Mexico):

Manager, Journal Customer Service
Taylor & Francis, Inc.
325 Chestnut Street, Suite 800
Philadelphia, PA 19106
phone: 215-625-8900
fax: 215-625-2940

In Europe and the rest of the world:

T&F Customer Services
T&F Informa UK Ltd
Sheepen Place
Colchester, Essex
phone: +44 (0) 20 7017 5544

Executive, Editorial, Sales & Marketing, and Production Services

Taylor & Francis, Inc.
325 Chestnut Street, Suite 800
Philadelphia, PA 19106
phone: 215-625-8900
fax: 215-625-2940


Editorial Staff


Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Alberta
Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
9211-116 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
T6G 1H9

Editorial Assistant

Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Alberta
Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
9211-116 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
T6G 1H9



Yannis Drossinos
European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Ispra, Italy

Jingkun Jiang
Tsinghua University
Beijing, China

Hans Moosmüller​
Desert Research Institute
Reno, Nevada

Pramod Kulkarni
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Cincinnati, OH

Matti Maricq
Ford Motor Company
Dearborn, Michigan

Kihong Park
Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology
Gwangju, Korea

Tiina Reponen
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio

Nicole Riemer
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, Illinois

Ilona Riipinen
Stockholm University
Stockholm, Sweden

Mark T. Swihart
The University at Buffalo, State University of New York
Buffalo, New York

Jing Wang
ETH Zurich/Empa
Zurich, Switzerland

Paul J. Ziemann
University of Colorado
Boulder, Colorado

Jim Smith
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, California

Guest Editors



Editorial Advisory Board

Bahman Asgharian
Applied Research Associates
Raleigh, NC

Adam Boies
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Suresh Dhaniyala
Clarkson University
Potsdam, NY

Mike Kleeman
University of California
Davis, CA

Mark Hernandez
University of Colorado
Boulder, Colorado

José-Luis Jimenez
University of Colorado
Boulder, Colorado

Murray V. Johnston
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware

Markus Petters
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC

Lutz Mädler
University of Bremen
Bremen, Germany

Gediminas Mainelis
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Linsey C. Marr
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, Virginia

Allen Robinson
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Steven Rogak
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC

Barbara Turpin
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Jim Smith
University of California
Irvine, CA

Jian Yu
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
Hong Kong, China


Founding Editors

B. Y. J. Liu
David T. Shaw
David S. Ensor

Editors Emeritus

Richard C. Flagan
Philip K. Hopke
Peter H. McMurry

AAAR Sponsors

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors...



and to our Bronze Sponsors...

Center for Aerosol Science


and Supporting Sponsor, Early Career Event Sponsor, Student Poster Award Sponsor...

and our Supporting Sponsors.

ACS Publications     |     Sunset Laboratory Inc.     |     Taiwan Association for Aerosol Research     |     Grimm Aerosol

Health Effects Institute     |     MDPI     |     Vitrocell Systems GmbH     |     2B Tech     |     Aerodyne Research, Inc.

Handix Scientific     |     Elsevier     |     Cambustion     |     MDPI     |     Dekati