Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize

Sponsored by AAAR and the International Society for Aerosols in Medicine (ISAM), the Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize recognizes excellence in the areas of pharmaceutical aerosols and inhalable materials.

The award honors the legacy of Thomas T. Mercer, an outstanding researcher and author whose work encompassed aerosol physics and chemistry as well as inhalation toxicology, industrial hygiene, and health physics.

Eligibility for 2021 Award

The letters must state the particular reasons for nominating the individual. The curriculum vitae should include a list of published work. The nomination must be submitted in one PDF file, in order of: one letter of nomination from a current AAAR or ISAM, the supporting letters, and finally the nominee's curriculum vitae.

Presentation of the Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize is shared between AAAR and ISAM on alternating years.

Nominations for the Mercer Award are due by February 12, 2021.

List of Recipients

1995 — Paul E. Morrow
1996 — Joseph D. Brain
1997 — Roger O. McClellan
1998 — Werner Stoeber
1999 — Willi Stahlhofen
2000 — Aziz Ben-Jebria
2001 — C. Arden Pope
2002 — Ronald Wolff

2003 — Günter Oberdörster
2004 — Igor Gonda
2005 — Andrew Clark
2006 — Myrna Dolovich
2007 — Stephen P. Newman
2008 — Warren H. Finlay
2010 — Wolfgang George Kreyling
2011 — Yung Sung Cheng

2012 — Peter Gehr
2013 — Mark J. Utell
2014 — Mark Hoover
2015 — Omar Usmani
2016 — Joe L. Mauderly
2017 — Anthony J. Hickey
2018 — Chong S. Kim
2019 — Jack Harkema
2020 — Mark Frampton

AAAR Sponsors

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors




Sunset Laboratory


Thank you to our Gold Sponsors

Aerosol Devices


Particle Instruments


Thank you to our Bronze Sponsors



CASE-Washington University

Cooper Environmental


Thank you to our Supporting Sponsors

ACS Publications     |     Aethlabs     |     Brechtel Manufacturing     |     Cambustion     |     Magee Scientific     |     USRA


Thank you to our Organizational Members



Magee Scientific

Particle Instruments

Sunset Laboratory