Benjamin Y.H. Liu Award

The Benjamin Y. H. Liu Award recognizes outstanding contributions to aerosol instrumentation and experimental techniques that have significantly advanced the science and technology of aerosols.

The award honors Professor Benjamin Liu for his leadership in the aerosol community and his own seminal contributions to aerosol science through instrumentation and experimental research. Professor Liu is a founding father of the AAAR and of the society's journal, Aerosol Science and Technology, and helped establish the International Aerosol Research Assembly. He received the Fuchs Memorial Award in 1994 and retired as Regents' Professor from the University of Minnesota in 2002, where he also served as the director of the Particle Technology Laboratory from 1973 to 1997.

Eligibility for 2023 Award

The letters must describe specific instrumentation and/or experimental techniques developed by the candidate that have had a significant impact on aerosol science and technology. The curriculum vitae should include a list of relevant commercial instruments, patents, and/or publications.

Nominations for the Benjamin Y.H. Liu Award must be submitted in one PDF file in the order outlined above, and are due by June 10, 2024. Click here to complete your submission. If you have any questions, please contact

List of Recipients

2003 — Earl Knutson (co-winner)
2003 — Michel Pourprix (co-winner)
2003 — Gilmore Sem (co-winner)
2004 — Douglas R. Worsnop (co-winner)
2004 — John T. Jayne (co-winner)
2005 — Josef Gebhart
2006 — Walter John
2007 — Susanne Hering

2008 — Murray V. Johnston (co-winner)
2008 — Daniel M. Murphy (co-winner)
2009 — Heinz Fissan
2010 — no award presented
2011 — David Diner
2012 — Da-Ren Chen
2013 — Hans Moosmüller (co-winner)
2013 — W. Patrick Arnott (co-winner)

2015 — Mark Stolzenburg
2016 — Rodney J. Weber
2017 — James N. Smith
2019 — Jasper Kirkby
2020 — Xiaoliang Wang
2021 — Yongle Pan
2023 — Dr. Jason Olfert

AAAR Sponsors at 2023 Conference

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors





Thank you to our Bronze Sponsors




Thank you to our Supporting Sponsors




Thank you to our Contributing Sponsor


Thank you to our Symposia Sponsor



Thank you to our 2024 Organizational Members






Particle Instruments