Help us support aerosol science and its application to important societal issues.  Your donation allows AAAR to recognize and support outstanding individuals and to promote aerosol research and innovation of the highest quality.  AAAR is a 501(c)(3) organization (Tax ID 22-2387061) and all donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowable by law.

Donate today!

Below are all the funds you can donate to, and what they support.

Endowment Funds

Susanne V. Hering Award Fund: This award recognizes outstanding contributions to aerosol science that have a significant impact on public health, the built environment, or the global ecosystem. The award honors Susanne Hering who is well known for her development of innovative aerosol measurement instrumentation and for her efforts to build AAAR into a vibrant, sustainable community for aerosol scientists.

Presidents Fund: This fund honors the past presidents of AAAR and supports a strategic project by the current President.  The fund was started in 2016 with a generous donation from David Ensor, contributions from past presidents, and matching funds from AAAR to create a True Endowment Fund.

AS&T Outstanding Publication Award Fund: The AS&T Outstanding Publication Award is presented annually to recognize a paper published in Aerosol Science and Technology (AS&T) that has had a significant impact on the field. This fund was started in 2018 with a generous donation from Peter McMurry, contributions by other donors, and matching funds from AAAR to create a True Endowment Fund.

Sheldon K. Friedlander Memorial Fund for Promoting Aerosols as an Enabling Discipline: This fund provides support for activities related to promoting aerosols as an enabling discipline, such as supporting plenary lectures and special symposia at the annual conference. This fund was established in 2009 by the family of Sheldon Friedlander with a $50,000 donation. Friends and colleagues contributed additional funds.

Fissan-Pui TSI Award Fund: This award is granted by the International Aerosol Research Assembly (IARA) to recognize international collaboration in the field of aerosol science and technology between researchers/engineers residing on at least two different continents. This fund was established in 2005 with a $75,000 donation from TSI Incorporated, which provided the award amount in 2006 and $65,000 to support future awards.

Sheldon K. Friedlander Dissertation Award Fund: This award recognizes an outstanding dissertation by an individual who has recently earned a doctoral degree. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the physical, biomedical, or engineering sciences but must be in the field of aerosol science and technology. The award memorializes Sheldon Friedlander for his leadership as a researcher, teacher, and pioneer in aerosol science.

Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize Fund: Sponsored by AAAR and the International Society for Aerosols in Medicine (ISAM), the Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize recognizes excellence in the areas of pharmaceutical aerosols and inhalable materials. The award honors the legacy of Thomas T. Mercer, an outstanding researcher and author whose work encompassed aerosol physics and chemistry as well as inhalation toxicology, industrial hygiene, and health physics. The award is funded by contributions from the Mercer Family Foundation, as well as contributions from ISAM and revenue from this fund.

David Sinclair Award Fund: This award recognizes sustained excellence in aerosol research and technology by an established scientist still active in their career. The individual 's research must have a lasting impact in aerosol science. The award memorializes David Sinclair, one of aerosol science's great innovators, known for his knowledge, ingenuity and energy.

Kenneth T. Whitby Award Fund: This award recognizes outstanding technical contributions to aerosol science and technology by a young scientist. The purpose of the award is to encourage continued work in the field and ongoing support of such endeavors. The award memorializes Kenneth T. Whitby, known for his contributions to aerosol measurement, the study of aerosol properties and behavior, and the nature of atmospheric aerosols.

Benjamin Y.H. Liu Award Fund: This award recognizes outstanding contributions to aerosol instrumentation and experimental techniques that have significantly advanced the science and technology of aerosols. The award honors Benjamin Liu for his leadership in the aerosol community and his own seminal contributions to aerosol science through instrumentation and experimental research.

Fuchs Memorial Award Fund: The Fuchs Memorial Award is the premier international prize in aerosol science and is sponsored by AAAR, the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF) and the Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology (JAAST). This fund supports AAAR’s contribution to the award. Presented every four years at the International Aerosol Conference, the award memorializes Nikolai Albertovich Fuchs, the great Russian scientist who is regarded by many as the “father of aerosol science.” The award recognizes outstanding worldwide contributions to the field of aerosol research.


How to Donate

To donate online, click here.

If you are donating over $1,000.00, or would like to pay by check, please send the Donation form to:

The American Association for Aerosol Research
Attn: John Lessard
11130 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 350
Reston, VA 20191

If you have any questions, please contact the Main Office at:, or 1-866-972-7222.

AAAR Sponsors

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors




Sunset Laboratory


Thank you to our Gold Sponsors

Aerosol Devices


Particle Instruments


Thank you to our Bronze Sponsors



CASE-Washington University

Cooper Environmental


Thank you to our Supporting Sponsors

ACS Publications     |     Aethlabs     |     Brechtel Manufacturing     |     Cambustion     |     Magee Scientific     |     USRA


Thank you to our Organizational Members



Magee Scientific

Particle Instruments

Sunset Laboratory