AAAR 41st Annual Conference

Award Winners

Congratulations to the AAAR 2023 Award Winners!

Sheldon K. Friedlander Dissertation Award
Haoxuan Chen

Susanne V. Hering Award
Ann Marie Carlton

Thomas T. Mercer Joint Prize
Chantal Darquenne

David Sinclair Award
Barbara Finlayson-Pitts

Benjamin Y.H. Liu Award
Dr. Jason Olfert

Kenneth T. Whitby Award
Gabriel Isaacman-VanWertz

AAAR 2023 Student Poster Competition Winners
Ariana Deegan
Davi de Ferreyro Monticelli
JinGyu Lee
Olivia Sablan
Sofie Schwink
Changjoon Seong
Shubham Sunil Sharma
Toan Vo
Yi Wang
Gabrielle West

AAAR 2023 Student Platform Presentation
Erin Emme
Teresa Feldman
Emily Halpern
Zoe Hoskin
Anna Kaehr
Daniel Katz
Kevin Kilchhofer
Adrienne Lambert
Felix Stollberger
Cara Waters

Fine Particle Art Competition Winners:

Microscopic Scale
1st place - #28, Under the Sea
Scott Hollenbeck, Darlene McAllister, Kristin Bunker, Gary Casuccio

2nd place - #27, Cubic Cobra
Marit Meyer, Justine Richardson, Traci Lersch, Kristin Bunker, Gary Casuccio

3rd place - #19, The Universe of CuONPs
Sripriya Nannu Shankar and Chang-Yu Wu

Macroscopic Scale
1st place - #12, Soot Formed by Enclosed Spray Combustion of Jet Fuel
Una Trivanovic

2nd place - #5, The Importance of Developing and Distributing Improved Cookstoves
Deborah S. Gross and Tsegaye Nega

3rd place - #22, Burj PSL
Julie Pongetti

Video Competition
1st place - #2, Rocking the Airwaves
Dylan Farrell, Athena Chaparro, Jennifer Rodriguez, Shane Chapman, Hanyang Li

2nd place - #1, Laser Diagnosis of PtO2 Nanoparticles in a Flame
Evangelos K. Stefanidis, Farnaz Khosravi

3rd place - #3, Particle Formation in a Flame
Shruti Choudhary, Onochie Okonkwo, Yiming Xi, Pratim Biswas

Juan Fernandez de la Mora High-Resolution Half-Mini DMA Prize Competition
Sarah Petters
Center for Environmental Research and Technology
University of California, Riverside

Andrea Ferro
Jim Smith

AS&T Outstanding Reviewer Awards
John Volckens
Jennie Cox
Steven Hill
Claudio Mazzoleni
Xiaoliang Wang

AS&T Outstanding Publication Award
“Particle Morphology and Density Characterization by Combined Mobility and Aerodynamic Diameter Measurements. Part 1: Theory” by Peter F. DeCarlo, Jay G. Slowik, Douglas R. Worsnop, Paul Davidovits, and Jose L. Jimenez

Dates to Remember

October 2 - 6, 2023
AAAR 41st Annual Conference

Code of Conduct


Oregon Convention Center
777 NE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

Portland, OR 97232


Conference Registration Fees
Member Type Super Early Bird Early Bird Regular
Full/Regular $699 $789 $882
Early Career $571 $642 $732
Student $275 $275 $366
Retiree $275 $275 $366